Copy-Cat

 

20151030_160426-1

When we were children we thought that being called a copycat was a bad thing. And maybe it was. We should always try to be as individual as possible, and not be afraid to let our true selves show.
But there is another old saying that goes “imitation is the best form of flattery”. In my opinion, when you’re dealing with a garden this is true. After all, aren’t we are simply imitating God’s creation when we create our own gardens?

20151119_141322


As a designer I have no problem with somebody copying my work. As a matter of fact, our web page has a gallery of pictures of work I’ve completed, and I encourage people to go there and look for ideas.

Botanical Concepts Picture Gallery

Personally, I’m constantly scouring magazines, Pinterest, and other sources of pictures to try and come up with different ideas. Most of the time, when I find something I really like, I tweaked it to make it my own.
The little tweaks that I give can be as simple as a different color, a different style container or maybe a different plant that will grow with the same habit as that of what I saw in a picture.

20151222_124422

Sometimes you have to make adjustments with what you see and what will actually grow in your location. That is why it is so important to know the plants that you’re dealing with. Know your growers and trust them.
Often I run into a situation where the exact container that I want isn’t available and I have to make some quick adjustments. I look at that as a challenge, and sometimes out of those challenges I create something much nicer than what I originally intended.

20160126_130435


So, I say go ahead and be a copycat- take my ideas and make them your own.

We’re all dealing with God’s beauty, and you can’t go wrong planting a garden.

Leave a Reply

