Some Things Just Go Hand-In-Hand

I’ve been providing horticultural services for over 30 years and I can say with confidence that there are certain types of people who have a true love of plants.  From the simple exotic Orchid to the complex landscape design, there are people out there who have made plants an important part of their live. Obviously I am one of them.

New plantings in beds or containers are planned with meticulous attention to detail, parties and special events are planned with plants and flowers being an intricate part of the decorating.  New plants or flowers added to the interior bring a feeling of joy.  There is a special feeling of contentment felt when we can spent a day working in the garden.

But do you know what else I’ve noticed about plant lovers?  Most are also ANIMAL lovers!

cute-dogs-and-cats-together-wallpaper-i2

There are days that I go from account to account and I am tripping over dogs.  Puppies looking for attention, adolescent dogs looking to play and mature dogs content to just say hello and then continue their nap.  It’s hard to concentrate on the job instead of spending time with all these loving dogs!  The only downfall to this part of my job is that when I get home, my own dog is jealous of all those doggy smells on me.  So it’s a quick shower before I can give him the love he deserves from me.

howavart-puppy-photo

And then there are those wonderful cats.  They act indifferent to your presence, but they are right there to inspect your water bucket and tools.  There are a few who will follow me from plant to plant, just to make sure I’m doing my job right.  And there are a few that will try to steal the tie tape out of my tools.  There is even one that jumps up to play in the water as I fill my bucket or water the plants.  Funny, my cats do that too.

1431131010_f16989e569

Of course there are other animals that make pets for us plant lovers.  Birds, Guinea Pigs, Reptiles of many kinds (ugh!), Fish, even Pot-Bellied Pigs.  I’ve seen all of these on my accounts, and each homeowner has their own special pet and place in their heart for their pet.

 But I have to say that dogs and cats will always be my favorite!

One thought on “Some Things Just Go Hand-In-Hand

Leave a Reply

